Perspective: What can you do in 6 weeks time?

Perspective is defined as a mental view or outlook; the relationship of aspects of a subject to each other and the whole.

Once you’ve established goals and are implementing your action plan, it’s important to reflect back and gain perspective.  All those steps over time can grow exponentially as you reach new heights and/or levels.

As I struggled with my swim today, stopping in complete exhaustion after 1000m, I started to worry about my ability to live up to my end of the bargain in a team triathlon.  As you may have guessed, I’ll be swimming.  1500m to be exact.

My goal was to swim 1500m today but I just couldn’t do it.  I was completely exhausted from my 10 mile run yesterday.  My legs were dead and I just didn’t have it.  Self doubt started to creep into my head until I applied one of the many lessons and skill sets I’ve acquired over the years, putting it into perspective.

Just 6 weeks ago, I couldn’t even run 1 mile without having to walk.  In short 6 weeks time, I went from not being able to run 1 mile to running 10 miles.  When I committed to running a marathon, I put my trust and faith into the program I selected, my hard work and determination.

If I can increase my running output by 10 fold in 6 weeks, who knows what’s possible with my swimming goal?

This idea settled my down and I continued to reflect back on all the things I’ve done in 6 weeks:

  • created an opportunity, closed the relationship and increased my income $40,000 in the process
  • increased my running distance to 10 miles
  • lost 18lbs
  • read 10 books
  • learned over 20 songs on guitar

I don’t say these things to impress you, but rather to impress upon you what’s possible in such a short period of time.

It’s pretty amazing when you sit back and think about it!  Now think about that type of focus, commitment and action over months and years!

All those days you invest in yourself, add up and compound.  Use perspective to gain an edge over self-doubt, skepticism and cynicism.

What will you accomplish over the next 6 weeks?

This entry was posted in Focus, Goals, Planning, Self, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

