BHAG’s: Big Hairy A** Goals

Goals

When I first heard the term BHAG, my mouth about the floor.  I couldn’t believe the speaker used that term at a business meeting!  Was it even appropriate to say?

I struggled with the title of this post and decided to roll with it because of the shock value and because it drives home the point.

What I’m about to share with you goes against the advice of anyone that helps people set goals.  You’re supposed to set SMART Goals.  I even use the term.  The letter R stands for realistic.

What is realistic?

When JFK challenged our nation to be the first to the moon, it was BHAG.  It had never been done before and quite frankly, at the time, it seemed next to impossible.

I just set a personal BHAG.  I will be running the Nike Women’s Marathon in October.  I currently can run around 3 miles.  Between now and then, I will have to figure out how to run 23 miles more than I currently can.  While I know it’s not impossible, to many, it seems unrealistic.  That’s ok.

Every now and then it’s good to push so far out of your comfort zone to see just what your capable of.

An old business coach of mine used to say, optimal motivation is reached when there is a 50% chance of failure and a 50% chance of success.  The problem for many of us, is we don’t know where that threshold is.

Staying inside your normal range of what’s possible will keep you from truly defining what that threshold is.

What is possible?  For most people, that’s defined by society, friends, family and even your own limiting beliefs.

Why not step so far outside of your realm of what’s possible to better define that 50% threshold?

That’s what it’s all about.  Better defining your threshold.  So maybe I fall short on my goal to run 26.2 miles consecutively.  I will finish the distance, even if I can only run 20 miles of it.

In the process, I will lose 30lbs, be in the best cardiovascular condition of my life, set myself up for better long-term health and gain greater core confidence.  There is no failure!

The next time someone says you can’t do something, test yourself, prove them wrong and see what’s possible.  You just might be surprised!

This entry was posted in Self. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BHAG’s: Big Hairy A** Goals

  1. You can do it!! Today is national running day and no better day to post this and set this goal! I myself will run my second marathon this year. It’s a commitment for sure, but with it! I posted some advice today on my blog 🙂 let me know if you need any advice!

    • Mike Barratt says:

      Thanks for the words of encouragement! I’m looking forward to the challenge of running the race and raising $3200. I’m doing mine through LLS’s Team in Training. Congrats on your 2nd marathon! I look forward to checking out your blog. Thanks!

  2. I am hoping your training is going well!

Leave a Reply

