A Roadmap to Happiness

Everybody wants to find happiness.  But so many people struggle to find it.

For 30 years of my life, I struggled to consistently find it.

If I just meet that someone special, I’ll be happy… If I just lose 30lbs, I’ll be happy…. If I just make 6 figures, I’ll be happy….. WRONG!

Every quest for happiness led me back to square one, me.

According to society, chocolate, marriage, money, diamond rings, cars, homes, vacations will make us happy.

We all know that money doesn’t make you happy.  Although not having it can make you unhappy.

Ask 100 people what makes you happy and you will get 100 different answers.  The truth is most people don’t know because most people aren’t happy.

The problem with all of those things is that they can be taken away.  If you base your happiness on those things, when they aren’t there, you won’t be happy.

Happiness needs to come from within, not externally.

For me, the path to being happier started with a quest to figure out who this Mike Barratt character was and what he was all about.

A good friend of mine turned me onto self-awareness.  At the time, I thought I knew everything about me.  As it turned out, I really didn’t.

As I started to learn about my strengths, my weaknesses, what was important to me, my core values a funny thing happened.  I started being comfortable in my own skin

The next step was to figure out where I wanted to go with my life.  I created a vision for my life and who I wanted to become.  After I did that, I created an action plan to make it happen.

Things weren’t always easy.  I failed A LOT.

I had a lot of bad habits attitudes and behaviors that prevented me from moving forward.  As I tested myself and my approach on life, I started to learn and grow.  I reached new levels that had a different set of changes.

The road was tough at times.  But I persevered.  Many people make the mistake of giving up or dreading those tough times.  Those tough times are when you develop your character.

EVERYTHING in the world can be taken away.  Your house, your car, your money and your job can all be taken away.  The only thing that can’t be taken aways is your character

Your character is defined as the aggregate of features or traits that make you who you are.

Both successes and struggles define you. 

Everything you do in life, either strengthens or weakens your character.

Knowing where you are, setting a course to where you want to go and the character you develop in the process is what creates true happiness.

Every day you grow, learn, improve, move closer to your vision makes you happier.

Most people go through life without knowing any of those things.

Start your quest today!  Find yourself, figure out where you want to go, decide what path you will take and you will move closer to happiness.

This entry was posted in Goals, Impact28k, Leadership, Motivation, Performance, Planning, Purpose, Self, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Roadmap to Happiness

  1. Couldn’t have said this better myself Mike.

  2. Kylie Ryan says:

    Great post Mike. What I’ve found with m clients is that when they give themselves permission to go after their real dreams and passions, and set themselves goals, it is not the realisation of those dreams & goals that brings happiness, but rather, simply the day to day action and rewards of making progress! As soon as you achieve a goal, you set another bigger one, it is human nature to want to expand. We expand through the perseverance through, and overcoming of challenging experiences.

  3. Nicole says:

    It’s crazy that people can go there whole lives trying to avoid/cover their true selves up, when once they get to know their quirks they become comfortable and more confident! I wish these life lessons were taught everywhere – from college/high school to the back of cereal boxes.. There’s a thought, I wonder if helping people get to know and like themselves would be a better marketing strategy for sales than the gimmicks mostly used today, hmm.

    • Mike Barratt says:

      Yeah, great points! We spend time learning things like trigonometry, french, english lit but we don’t teach people true life skills like planning, goal setting, self awareness and helping them figure out what will make them happy. We live in a materialistic society where many people measure their own self worth by how many things they can accumulate and how much money they make. Nothing wrong with wanting a lot of money and fun things(I do) but you shouldn’t base your happiness and self worth around things that can be taken away. Marketers are the worst. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

