Book Review: The Go Giver

After the 6th person in 2 weeks told me I should read the Go Giver, I figured the universe was telling me something.  Maybe it’s time to read this book.

A year later, this book had a profound impact on my life.  Moreso than any other book I’ve read.  It’s one of those books you can re-read and find new lessons from this business parable. 

This book centers around the character Joe, who’s an ambitious salesman who is in desperate need of a big sale to meet a quarterly quota.  His ambition leads him to a mogul named Pindar.

His original intent was to meet this man to gain an edge over a business contract he’s pursuing but ends up finding something unexpected, a mentor and a new approach for life.

Pindar teaches Joe “the 5 Laws of Stratospheric Success.”  These laws teach Joe to think of others, be authentic, provide value to others and to stop approaching everything in life from the angle of what’s in it for me.

Each of those 5 laws are illustrated through 5 characters who clearly demonstrate those respective laws and are all connected to the mentor, Pindar. 

The more I’ve implemented these 5 laws in my life and in business, the more successful, fulfilled and happy I’ve been. 

Over the next few weeks, I will be covering the 5 Laws of Stratospheric Success and my interpretation of them.  If you haven’t had the chance, I HIGHLY recommend you pick up the book and stay tuned for more. 

The 5 Laws are:

  1. The Law of Value– your true worth is determined by how much more you give in value than you take in payment
  2. The Law of Compensation– your income is determined by how many people you serve and how well you serve them
  3. The Law of Influence– you influence is determined by how abundantly you place other peoples interest first
  4. The Law of Authenticity– the most valuable gift you have to offer is yourself
  5. The Law of Receptivity– the key to effective giving is to stay open to receiving
This entry was posted in Goals, Health, Leadership, Motivation, Performance, Planning, Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

